Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Standard

Hey everyone,

I couldn’t sleep last night because I was up pretty late talking with my sister. We were talking about her journey and experience with domestic violence. It’s a difficult topic to discuss because my sister is a victim of DV and I saw and felt her experiences that ranged from emotional, physical, and legal. Her journey impacted our entire family and I too was greatly effected as I was uprooted from my independent life. I was fresh out of college and became a mom to my nephew overnight while my sister was hospitalized. Even though I didn’t experienced the physical abuse, the slaps and the bruises, nor did I ever have to endure the verbal assaults, or venture the pains of her emotional terrors, I became a victim of her abuse. So was my nephew and my mother. It shots ripples through our family. It complicated things on a lot of levels. It was confusing on a lot of levels and extremely frustrating. I can go on and on. BUT absolutely non of this was my sister’s fault. I’ve never blamed her for any of it. It is NEVER the victim’s fault.

So I want to observe Domestic Violence Awareness Month on my blog. This October we morn “those who have died because of domestic violence, celebrating those who have survived, and connecting those who work to end violence” (www.ncadv.org).

For more information on Domestic Violence Awareness Month, please visit the link below.

http://www.ncadv.org/takeaction/DomesticViolenceAwarenessMonth.php

2 thoughts on “Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Leave a Reply

